In British Columbia, the Community Charter and the Local Government Act give local governments, led by their municipal Council, the authority to do such things as adopt bylaws and establish policies to guide the development and operation of the municipality, to set budgets and levy taxes, all for the benefit and protection of its citizens.

The Council

Saanich Council is comprised of a mayor and eight Councillors who collectively represent the municipality at large. Council is guided by the Saanich Vision of a healthy, natural environment, social well-being and economic vibrancy for current and future generations. The Strategic Plan provides the road map to steer Council and staff toward the vision. Major accomplishments are outlined in our Annual Report.

More detailed information on the duties of the Mayor and Council are contained in the Community Charter.