Changes coming to Saanich’s public electric vehicle charging network

December 9, 2020

News release

For immediate release

Changes coming to Saanich’s public electric vehicle charging network 

Saanich, BC – 2020 has been challenging in so many ways, but one thing that continues to be easy is making the switch to an electric vehicle (EV). As more residents make the switch, demand for charging stations continues to rise, so the District of Saanich is taking steps to add 20 new stations in 2021. A small user fee will also be added to our charging stations to help manage this demand.

“As our community leads the way on the uptake of electric vehicles, we want to ensure that our public charging network is as efficient and accessible as possible,” said Mayor Fred Haynes. “By adding more charging stations to our network, we’re making it easier for more people to plug in and make the switch, and I look forward to seeing the charging network continue to expand. In the public space, a nominal user fee will help promote turnover so more people can access charging stations, while still keeping the price of fueling EVs much lower than filling a gas-powered vehicle.”

New charging stations

Saanich is already home to 75 public EV charging stations. Of these, the District owns and operates 12 level 2 EV charging stations at its four recreation centres, Cedar Hill Golf Course and Municipal Hall. In 2021, an additional 20 public charging stations will be added at Saanich facilities, recreation centres, and parks. In addition to supporting a robust public charging network, Saanich is committed to corporate leadership, with 20 municipal fleet charging stations that service the District’s fully electrified fleet of passenger vehicles.

New Saanich stations will be located at:

  • Saanich Municipal Hall
  • Cedar Hill Golf Course
  • Cedar Hill Recreation Centre
  • Saanich Common Wealth Place
  • Pearkes Recreation Centre
  • Beckwith Park
  • Cadboro-Gyro Park
  • Hampton Park
  • Mount Douglas Park

Nominal charging fee

Effective January 4, 2021, a $1/hour user fee will be in place at all Saanich-owned electric vehicle charging stations. With EVs becoming increasingly popular, there has been congestion at the chargers and the user fee is intended to encourage turnover, as well as recuperate the costs of electricity and maintenance of the stations.

The new user fee will be aligned with the $1/hour fee currently in place in the Township of Esquimalt, and the City of Victoria starting in January 2021. All Saanich EV charging stations will continue to be subject to a 3-hour time limit from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., or in the case where stations are located at a Saanich facility, during the operating hours of that facility.

The rapid uptake of electric vehicles and other low-carbon transportation choices is essential for achieving the District’s climate targets.

Learn more

For more information on electric vehicles and charging stations in Saanich, please visit:


Media contact:
Kelsie McLeod
Saanich Communications