2020 Environmental Awards

October 28, 2020

2020 Environmental Awards

Saanich, BC –Councillor Rebecca Mersereau, Chair of the Environment and Natural Areas Advisory Committee, announced the recipients of the 2020 Saanich Environmental Awards at the October 26, 2020 Council meeting.

“2020 marks the twentieth year that Saanich has recognized the contributions of individuals and organizations working toward a more sustainable future for our community and region through the Saanich Environmental Awards,” said Councillor Mersereau. “The awards are an initiative of the Environment and Natural Areas Advisory Committee which welcomes nominations from the public in March of each year.”

2020 award recipients include:

  • Individual– Lori James Derry
  • Volunteer Organization – Power to Be Adventure Therapy Society
  • Business – Red Barn Market
  • Youth – Arbutus Global Middle School
  • Biodiversity Conservation – Dr. Hans Roemer
  • Long Term Achievement – Dave Lock (posthumous)
  • Long Term Achievement (Honourable Mention) – Mt. Douglas Pulling Together Team
  • Sustainability – Compost Education Centre

Past recipients have been involved in projects such as invasive species removal, environmental education, native plant propagation, waste reduction and conservation on private property. Business awards have been given for sustainable developments and energy efficiency programs, among others.

More information about this year’s recipients is available at saanich.ca/enviroawards

Media contacts:
Rebecca Mersereau, Chair
Environment and Natural Areas Advisory Committee