Saanich Fire welcomes newest members to the Fire Department

December 20, 2018

On December 13, 2018, the Fire Department held a Declaration of Duty ceremony to official welcome their newest members to the Fire Department.

The ceremony recognized the recent accomplishments of five fire fighter recruits and their completion of a six week intensive training program specific to their firefighting duties as well as the addition of two Alarm Dispatchers to the Department. The ceremony celebrated and instilled core values such as pride, honour and integrity and populo serviendo – serving the people.

As part of the ceremony, new members pledged their Declaration of Duty to the Fire Department and fire fighters received their uniform badge, the Maltese Cross, which is recognized around the world as a symbol of the fire service, from Fire Chief Michael Burgess.

The ceremony was officiated by Saanich’s Legislative Manager, Angila Bains. During the ceremony, Fire Chief Burgess spoke to the role all Fire Department members have in our community and welcomed Fire Fighter Taylor Britton, Fire Fighter Ian Duncan, Fire Fighter Matt Iverson, Fire Fighter Mitchell Lietaer, Fire Fighter Casey Moore, Alarm Dispatcher Alyson Barnes and Alarm Dispatcher Lauren Mateyko to the Department.

His Worship Mayor Haynes extended his congratulations on behalf of the Municipality and wished them long and successful careers in the fire service.