Saanich Announces the Resilient Saanich Technical Committee

July 30, 2020

Media Release

For Immediate Release

Saanich Announces the Resilient Saanich Technical Committee

Saanich, BC – The District is pleased to announce the members of the “Resilient Saanich” Technical Committee (RSTC), appointed by Council on July 20, 2020.  The “Resilient Saanich” process will develop an Environmental Policy Framework, a Biodiversity Conservation Strategy, an Enhanced Stewardship Program and will be integrated with climate planning. The purpose of the RSTC is to advise and share its expertise in shaping the actions outlined in the “Resilient Saanich” Terms of Reference.

RSTC Members, selected by Saanich Council on July 20th 2020, are:

  • Kevin Brown
  • Claudia Copley
  • Tim Ennis
  • Purnima Govindarajulu
  • Stewart Guy
  • Jeremy Gye
  • Tory Stevens
  • Brian Wilkes
  • Bev Windjack
  • First Nations Representative (TBD)

The RSTC will hold their first meeting in August where a Committee Chair will be elected from and by the committee members. These members of the RSTC will serve through Milestones One and Two of “Resilient Saanich”, until a renewed selection of members is made by Council for Milestone Three.  The “Resilient Saanich” process is planned to wrap up with a final report to Council in the fall of 2022.

Information about “Resilient Saanich” is available on the Saanich website at  An e-bulletin subscription is also available on the web for those interested in keeping informed and participating in “Resilient Saanich”. Updates on RSTC meetings and work will be posted on the RSTC webpages accessed via the above link.


Media contact:
Kelsie McLeod
Saanich Communications