2018 election results

Declaration of Official Election Results - October 24, 2018

Pursuant to Section 144 of the Local Government Act these preliminary results are based on the ballot accounts prepared at each of the voting places and are subject to determination of official election results by the Chief Election Officer.

The inaugural meeting will be held on Monday, November 5, 2018 at 7 p.m. at Saanich Municipal Hall, Council Chambers.

For Office of Mayor

Candidate No. of votes Result
Richard Atwell  10,786  
Fred Haynes 15,312  Elected
David Shebib  324  
Rob Wickson 5,546  

For Office of Councillor

Candidate No. of votes Result
Benjamin Allan 5,209  
Trevor Barry  5,541  
Susan Brice  15,981  Elected
Judy Brownoff  13,594  Elected
Kathleen Burton  11,289  
Nathalie Chambers  13,080  Elected
Zac de Vries  13,631  Elected
Karen Harper  11,713  Elected
Ian Jessop  9,606  
Vernon Lord  3,300  
Rebecca Mersereau  18,416  Elected
Cory Montgomery  8,695  
Shawn Newby  11,010  
Teale Phelps Bondaroff  9,043  
Colin Plant  17,749  Elected
Art Pollard  3,675  
Rishi Sharma  10,127  
Ned Taylor  16,047  Elected


Community opinion ballot question results

“Are you in favour of spending up to $250,000 for establishing a Citizens’ Assembly to explore the costs, benefits and disadvantages of the amalgamation between the District of Saanich and the City of Victoria?”

yes  no
 16,852 13,274

Capital Regional District 

Saanich included an informal poll on the ballot to provide guidance to Council to appoint four of its members as directors of the Capital Regional District. Not all candidates put their name forward to be appointed a CRD director.

Name No. of votes
Brice, Susan  14,633
Brownoff, Judy  11,484
Jessop, Ian  6,967
Mersereau, Rebecca  15,329
Montgomery, Cory  5,978
Newby, Shawn  7,254
Plant, Colin  15,316
Pollard, Art  2,605
Sharma, Rishi  7,271
Taylor, Ned  11,925